Minimum Wage

Hourly Wage Rates in Various States and Cities, 2017

IN 2017, STARTING IN EITHER JANUARY OR JULY THESE ARE THE MINIMUM HOURLY WAGE RATES FOR VARIOUS STATES AND CITIES

Minimum Wage Going up in These Places
Here is the complete list of new minimum wage rates ordered by state, city and county. Is your business located in on of these communities?
States
Alaska – $9.80
Arizona – $10.00
Arkansas – $8.50
California – $10.00 for small employers; 10.50 for large employers
Colorado – $9.30
Connecticut – $10.10
Florida – $8.10
Hawaii – $9.25
Maine – $9.00
Maryland – $9.25 (as of July)
Massachusetts – $11.00
Michigan – $8.90
Missouri – $7.70
Montana – $8.15
New Jersey – $8.44
New York – Varies across state from $9.70 to $11 (as of 12/31/16)
Ohio – $8.15
Oregon – $10.25 (as of July)
South Dakota – $8.65
Vermont – $10.00
Washington – $11.00
Cities and Counties
California

Cupertino – $12.00
El Cerrito – $12.25
Los Altos – $12.00
Mountain View – $13.00
Oakland – $12.86
Palo Alto – $12.00
Richmond – $12.30
Sacramento – $10.50 (large employers)
San Diego – $11.50
San Mateo – $12.00
San Jose – $10.50
Santa Clara – $11.10
Sunnyvale – $13.00
In District of Columbia:
Washington, D.C. – $12.50 (as of July)
Iowa

Johnson County – $10.10
Linn Country – $8.25
Wapello County – $8.20
Maine

Portland – $10.68
New Mexico

Albuquerque – $8.80
Bernalillo – $8.70
Las Cruces – $9.20
New York

New York City – $11.00 (as of 12/31/16)
Long Island and Westchester, N.Y. – $10.00 (as of 12/31/16)
Washington

Seattle – $15.00
SeaTac – $15.35
Tacoma – $11.15

 

EMPLOYER ALERT – FLORIDA MINIMUM WAGE INCREASES JANUARY 1

Effective January 1, 2012, Florida’s minimum wage for non-tipped employees will increase to $7.67 an hour, a 4.9 percent increase from the $7.31 an hour minimum for 2011, according to an announcement by the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity. Wages for tipped employees will increase to $4.65 an hour.

This increase is based on the increase of the federal Consumer Price Index for urban wage workers in the southeastern United States.

In accordance with a 2004 constitutional amendment, Florida automatically raises the minimum wage rates based on the CPI. The federal minimum wage (currently $7.25 an hour) cannot be raised except by an act of Congress.

Florida employers must pay the higher, Florida minimum wage rate.

EMPLOYER ALERT – MINIMUM WAGE INCREASES JULY 24

Effective July 24, 2009 the federal minimum wage increases to $7.25 per hour, an increase of four cents above the current Florida minimum wage of $7.21 per hour. Employers are required to pay the higher of the federal minimum wage, or the minimum wage required by state statute.

Accordingly, Florida employers should adjust their payroll practices no later than July 24 to ensure that all employees are paid a minimum of $7.25 per hour. An exception is tipped employees, whose hourly rate continues to be governed by the Florida law permitting a reduced wage of $4.19 per hour, provided that the employee’s wage plus tips equals total compensation of at least $7.25 per hour.